Cannibal Snapshot

It’s the beginning of the month – sort of – and that means a new story has dropped on my Patreon page. “Snapshot of a Chicago Cannibal, Circa 1893” was first published in 2008, in a venue which has since vanished into the mists of the antediluvian interwebs.

The story is one of my early experiments in stream-of-consciousness writing, and remains one of my favourites from that period. After some idle research into the Bloody Benders, as well as a re-read of Upton Sinclair’s 1906 novel, The Jungle, I thought the stockyards of 1893 Chicago might be exactly the sort of hunting grounds the surviving Bender would gravitate towards. As to the other predators that prowl the urban jungle -well, your mileage may vary.

While I’m not often a fan of my own work, I do think this is one of the better stories I’ve written. Why not risk a buck, and see if you agree? And if you’re looking for something cheaper, check out “The Roaring Ship”, a new, absolutely free Royal Occultist story, available only on my Patreon page.

