Mask Vs. Bat Vs. Patreon

It’s the first of the month, and there’s a new short story available at my Patreon page. “Máscara contra Murciélago” is a post-apocalyptic crime-wrestling story, in which a former luchador-turned-hitman fights a giant mutant bat. If I can’t sell you that for a dollar, I’m in the wrong business.

I’ve had the Patreon page active for around three months now, and while I’m still getting to grips with how it works, I’m fairly well satisfied. Even more important, my patrons seem satisfied.

It’s been easy enough, so far. The four stories I’ve posted were already written, as are the next few I’ve got lined up – they were either written specifically for projects that never came to fruition, or were rejected by whatever market I’d hoped to submit them to. While I could’ve shopped them around to other markets, I decided I might as well try and get a more immediate use out of them. I’m confident enough in my own abilities these days that a rejection doesn’t immediately make me question the viability of a work.

Too, this year, one of my aims has been to diversify my income streams a bit more. A majority of what I bring in each year comes from one or two sources, and I’d like to vary that some. To that end, I’ve been seeking out other publishing opportunities. While I did consider self-publishing, Patreon offers a similar experience for a smaller time investment. That isn’t to say that I won’t try self-publishing something in the future, but at the moment it’s a non-starter for me.

I’ve also given more thought to serialising a short novel or two on Patreon. Obviously, that would require a different form patronage – I’m not going to make people pay a buck a chapter – but it might be a good way of experimenting with some ideas I’m interested in exploring, but doubt I can find a publisher for. Still, that’s for next year, at earliest. This year is for short stories.

Lots and lots of short stories.

If you’re interested in reading some, why not stop by my Patreon page, pledge a dollar and get to reading?

