WIPW: Sort Of

It’s been a little over ten days since I last posted an entry. Mea culpa. My bad. Anyway, I’ve been busy. Some of us work for a living, people. Sort of. Kind of.

I completed the first draft of Book #1 of 2017 around two weeks ago. It topped off at 120,000 words, give or take a few hundred. Which is pretty chunky, for a book about an immortal space vivisectionist and his flunkies. I don’t expect the book to remain at that length, once the editing process begins. There’s some fat that can definitely be trimmed, I think.

Week before last, I spent working on a short story for Black Library, as well as one for a Sherlock Holmes anthology I was invited to submit to earlier this year. I finished both, but the latter is in need of a serious edit, which I’ll likely get to this weekend. Both short stories came to around 6,000 words apiece, which made for a busy week. Especially when you add in the audio pitch I wrote towards the end of the week. An audio pitch for a thing that isn’t even out yet, no less. Hey-ho, that’s how the work goes.

With those out of the way, I was free to start on Book #2 of 2017 last week. Interestingly, Book #2 was supposed to be Book #4 of last year, before it got pushed back. I’ve made good headway on it – as of today, I’m 19,000 words into it, which is pretty good for a week and some change. This one took a bit of time to come to grips with. I had a few false starts with it, trying to get back into the character’s head, after having to postpone the project last year. It’s also required a lot more research than the last few books I’ve written, with lots of other books to be read, in preparation.

If you’d like a hint as to what Book #2 is about, it falls somewhere between this short story and this audio drama. Please purchase one, or preferably both, as the mood takes you.

And that’s what I’ve been up to.

Oh, and by the way, there’ll be a new short story going up over at my Patreon this weekend, if that sort of thing interests you. There are currently three stories available for patrons to read, for a donation of a dollar per story. Why not take a look, and consider dropping a buck or two in the dollar bin.

