WIPW: Catch Up

It’s been a few weeks since my last WIP post. That’s the way of it, this year. Trying to do one every week seems a bit redundant, since it’s often the same flavour of post, good intentions aside. Anyway, here’s another one.

I’m currently closing in on the 90,000 word mark for Book #1 of 2017. Despite what you’d think, I’m nowhere near the end. As I think I’ve explained before, I tend to jump around in the narrative when writing, working on whatever scenes catch my interest. Which means I inevitably circle around certain scenes because, for whatever reason, I don’t feel like writing them until I absolutely have to. These are almost always fight scenes or transition scenes, where there’s not much character interaction or dialogue.

That said, I occasionally force myself to sit down and work through those scenes when I’ve got several that need doing. That’s what was on the docket for this week – a nice void battle/boarding action sequence, as our merry crew of mutants and madmen are accosted by some unfriendly border guards on the edge of the Maelstrom. This is one of those ‘not-quite a random encounter’ sequences, where it’s both a necessary break in plot shenanigans and also an opportunity for some character development through violence. That said, I’ll be glad when it’s done and I can get back to the shenanigans.

Besides working on the book, I’ve been plunking away at a short story submission for a Lovecraftian anthology I was recently made aware of. Given the theme of the anthology, I decided it was time to revisit Amina Algol and her ghoulish siblings, as they hunt the enemies of the Charnel God, Mordiggian. This time, they’re on the trail of a missing picture and a cunning thief in a story I’m calling “The Ghoul’s Portrait”.

Amina and co. have appeared in two previous stories – “Mordiggian’s Due” and “The Last Song of Iranon” – both of which were fun to write, as sort of Fritz Leiber-esque pastiches of HP Lovecraft’s Dreamlands cycle. This one’s a lot of fun as well, featuring as it does a monstrous mist-demon, night-time roof-running, and a portrait of a god, as painted by the ghoul that was once Richard Upton Pickman. Also, Mr. Nuth.

On the subject of short stories, I’m currently waiting to hear back on a few pitches for Black Library, as well as trying to come up with some ideas for a Sherlock Holmes anthology and a Hollywood mystery anthology I was invited to submit to. I’ve been wanting to write more mysteries, so I’m looking forward to getting stuck in with the latter two, when I finally hit on solid ideas for them.

I’ve also been hard at work on the edits for the stories for Cryptid Clash!, including tales by Willie Meikle, David Annandale and Gav Thorpe. As a co-editor (along with James Bojaciuk) I might be a bit biased when I say that all of these stories of monster versus monster action excellent, but it’s the truth. There’s not a bad one in the bunch. Even mine is pretty good, I think.

And that’s what I’ve been working on the past few weeks.

