WIPW: Here We Go

I’ve been a bit quiet on the work-in-progress front, mostly due to the work in question. I’m knee-deep in the new book, and it’s taking up the majority of my brain space of late. Still, I’ve owed an update for a two weeks now, so…here we go.

As I said, I’ve started work on the first novel of 2017. Novel 1 is trundling along all ahead full at the moment. I’m about 36,000 words into a 90,000 word draft. Writing a sequel is more complicated, in some ways, than a first book. All of the characters have to be recognisable, but somewhat different – time has passed, old slights have been forgiven and new grudges earned.

My original plan for this one called on it to occur right on the heels of the first in the series. The publisher wanted a more stand alone novel, so I’ve had to salvage what I could of the old plan, and graft it on to something different. It’ll be a better book for the change, I think. There’s some interesting things I’m getting to explore – characters and concepts that I might otherwise not – that makes it worth the hassle of having to come up with a new direction on the fly.

I’ve already marked several characters for death – good deaths, I think. Meaningful deaths. But painful ones, both for me as the writer and, hopefully, the reader. That said, I’ve got another 30,000 words or so until the first of those, so there’s still time to change my mind.

On the subject of novels, I got back the edits for the final one of 2016 today, which’ll occupy my afternoons for the next few days. There’s not much to be done, which is nice, but what there is will require some thought, which is less nice. I’m not a big fan of thinking. On the whole, I don’t expect them to take too long, though.

I also need to edit the Royal Occultist story I mentioned last time, which topped out at a respectable 6,000 words. I don’t have too much more to say about this one, other than it was fun to write, if a bit difficult. For once, it doesn’t end in violence. I don’t know how I feel about that.

Besides all of that, I also managed to finish a script for Black Library, about a thing I can’t talk about. So that’s all I’ll say about that, for the moment.

Oh, and by the way – I have a Patreon now. There’s a short story up to read, and everything. So why not drop me a buck, and get to reading?

