Death’s Due

And so, we come to it. A hat. A handful of names. Destiny fulfilled. Or, rather, a book being shipped out to someplace hopefully local.

Anyway, in the interests of fairness, we’re going to document this step-by-step. I apologise in advance for my poor photography skills.

First, the hat:

20161214_082623

Second, the names:

20161214_082650

And the winner is…

20161214_082809

Hunh. No, that’s not right. Let’s try this again. And the winner is…

20161214_082827

Son of a…no. Third time lucky! Let’s do this! And the winna and still champeen is…

20161214_082852

GOD DAMN IT MANNFRED.

Nope. Nope, nope, nope. Fourth round! Let’s get it right. And the actual winner is…

20161214_082941

BEN CAWKWELL. Look at that. An actual human being.

And that’s that. Congratulations Ben, you win yourself a signed copy of Nagash: The Undying King, which I will bundle in the post, post-haste.

I want to thank Mike Wang, Andy Maddison and the rest of the entrants for their donations. And as a special thank you, I’ll be dedicating my next few books, starting with Eight Lamentations: Spear of Shadows, to you guys. Not quite as good as a free book in the post, I know, but you get your name in a book, and I hear folks enjoy that.

And, I encourage you to donate to your local RSPCA or animal shelter this holiday season, if you’re able. You could also donate to other volunteer organisations like Cat Jazz Rescue, which are badly in need of funds.

Really, any charity, honestly, especially these days. Even if it means you buy one less book of mine.

And be sure to take to heart the words of the Undying King this holiday season…

Death is not a foe to be beaten.

Death simply is.

Happy Nagash-mas folks.

