WIP Wednesday: Out of Sync

The problem with having ideas is the urge to share them all, in excruciating detail. Right now, I have a dozen ideas rattling around in my brain, looking for a way out. One or two of them will make it, but the rest will have to wait.

Right now, most of those ideas are bits of business for the current WIP. Stuff like, what sort of beer would you brew, if you lived on the back of a giant worm? What would you call the seasons? Does Nagash have missionaries? Are there people from Shyish standing on street corners, handing out religious tracts about the benefits of dying and consigning your soul to the Undying King?

I like to think so.

Anyway, I’m at the point in the book where I’ve stopped pretending that I’m going to do this thing in anything remotely resembling a linear fashion. Some books are like that. I write the scene I’m interested in on the day, and worry about how to tie it all together later. Great for word count, bad for anyone trying to make sense of what I’m writing. Luckily, that’s my problem and no one else’s.

Writing out of sync also allows for greater creativity on my part, I think. Especially in regards to dialogue. Just sitting down and writing a conversation between two characters can yield interesting results later on in the book. Granted, a lot of these conversations are unimportant, in regards to the main thrust of the plot, but anything that adds depth to the characters populating said plot is probably a good idea.

Today’s out-of-sync scenes, in no particular order: an elderly skaven warlord arguing with a somewhat dim-witted rat-daemon; a knight feeding a live wolf-rat to his demigryph; a vampire climbing the side of a giant worm; and shape-changing raven-assassins attacking a library. Make of that what you will.

Also, seven days left to enter the charity raffle for a copy of Nagash: The Undying King. To those of you who’ve entered, thank you. To those of you still considering it – what are you waiting for?

4 comments

  1. Interesting, I pretty much only ever right out of sink. I usually get about halfway and from there on it all breaks down, but I find it destroys writer’s block and actually joining the dots isn’t hard after… but I guess that depends on how much you have a plan beforehand.

      1. Seems to be a way with a lot of great writers (my bae Bernard Cornwell apparently doesn’t plan). I get too scared about not knowing what the hell is going on if I don’t have it about 75% planned, but I guess that’s the joy of just pitching in…

      2. I have a general sort of plan, i.e. I know the big beats of the plot. But everything between those beats, I’d prefer to wing on the fly. It’s more fun that way.

Comments are closed.