WIP Wednesday: Tik-Tik-Tik

Round and round it goes, all day, every day. Tik-tik-tik. The wheel of my mind, tik-tik-tik. Never slowing, never speeding up. Regular, rhythmic, routine. Tik-tik-tik. I am Jacques Futrelle’s Thinking Machine. See me ratiocinate.

All things that start must go somewhere.

The book is going somewhere. 35,000 words in, two and a half weeks. Characters have been introduced, motivations teased, the plot is moving smoothly. There’s a tendency, with a book like this one, to turn sections into a travelogue of sorts. ‘Here is a place. Look at it from a great height. Now look at it from a low crouch. Is it not glorious?’

I’m trying to avoid that here. Whatever its secondary purpose, the primary function of Eight Lamentations: Spear of Shadows is to tell a cracking good adventure story. I need the characters to do things, while they admire the view. And if not them, other characters. I’m bringing in some old favourites from two of my previous Age of Sigmar contributions – Black Rift and Fury of Gork – in walk on cameos, just for that purpose.

That leads to another danger, of course. Side-characters, especially fun ones, can easily take over a story. I have to be sparing with them, and remember that they’re part of the mechanism of the plot. That said, fun is fun, and sometimes it’s good to eat up some word count with old friends – in this case, a (very) elderly skaven warlord who’s busy threatening his subordinates to death, and a flock of shape-changing Arcanite raven-assassins who are hunting our heroes through the ochre skies of the realm of beasts.

In other WIPs, I managed to get two short story submissions off this week, and tweak a pitch for Black Library. In doing so, I managed to clear the decks of all outstanding projects, barring the book. Now I’ve got a month to finish the novel, take a few days off and get to work on Book #1 of 2017. I wonder what *that* will be about?

In other, wholly unrelated, news, you’ve got two days left to pre-order Fabius Bile: Primogenitor, before it hits the shelves. And if you’ve been eyeing the snazzy limited edition, well, there’s only about 750 copies left, so you’d best get one sooner, rather than later. If you’re on the fence about it, check out this wonderful review by Marc Collins and see if it sways you.

