WIP Wednesday: Plenty in the Tank

It’s November, and I’ve got one more book left to write before the new year. Luckily, I think I’ve got just about one more book in me. To paraphrase a great man, I got plenty left in the tank.

I completed the first draft Book #5 last week, and turned it in. I’m not entirely happy with it, but that’s par for course. I’ve already scribbled out some notes for possible revisions. The book needs a bit more background colour in places, I think. It also needs some additional character-building scenes. Not many – one or two, at most. Just a few tweaks, to better illuminate the motivations of some of the side characters. Problem being, it’s already about 10,000 words over the word limit, and these aren’t large books.

Maybe I’ll get lucky and the editor will allow me another 10,000 or so words to play with.

I also completed the edits on Book #4 last week. Surprisingly minimal. Perhaps not surprising, given the subject matter. It was more in my wheelhouse than #5, at least. Speaking of wheelhouses, I started Book #6 this week. I’m about 10,000 words in and things are moving along nicely. I’ve been thinking about this one for the last four months give or take, so it’s nice to finally get started. It’s a summer blockbuster sort of book – lots of explosions and banter and monsters and airships and jungles and such. Very pacey and action-packed, with some nice bits of long-overdue world building for the setting in question.

Last Friday, I managed to finish some last minute revisions to “Inzignanin”, my cryptid Vs. cryptid novella, and an expansion of an older short story of mine, “Laying the Hairy Book”. I added about 2,000 words to the former, and 4,000 to the latter. I need to give the short story another once over before I submit it to the market I have in mind, but I sent the novella off today, a few weeks ahead of schedule.

Anyway, in closing, have you pre-ordered your copy of Fabius Bile: Primogenitor yet? FYI, the more copies of this that sell, the more likely I am to be commissioned to write a third in the series. So, if you want to read about Fabius’ hi-jinks in the Dark City, maybe buy this one, hunh? Or, if money is no object, this handsome fellow here.

