Corpse-Light

Today is William Hope Hodgson’s birthday.

I guess it’s appropriate then, that the third and, sadly, final issue of SARGASSO: The Journal of William Hope Hodgson Studies is now available for purchase. I’m proud to say that among the 150 + pages of William Hope Hodgson related essays, review, fiction and poetry is my story, “Corpse-Light”.

sargasso3

Art by Robert Knox

My contribution, “Corpse-Light”, features the duo of Harley Warren and Randolph Carter, and finds them investigating an abandoned house, overrun by strange, fungal growths, on an island off the coast of Charleston. Warren and Carter have appeared in my work before, in the short stories “The Savage Dreamer” (Innsmouth Magazine, 2011), “The Bells of Northam” (Lovecraft eZine, 2013), “Dead Man’s Tongue” (The Dark Rites of Cthulhu, 2014) and “The Briggs Hill Path” (The Song of the Satyrs, 2014).

I’m pleased my story was accepted for Sargasso. I’ve long considered Hodgson an influence on my writing. Without Carnacki, I might never have come to know and love the occult detective genre as much as I do. If you’re interested in learning more about Hodgson and his work, I highly recommend Sam Gafford’s William Hope Hodgson site. I also encourage you to pick up the first two issues of SARGASSO, both of which are still available to purchase, either in paperback, as well as for the Kindle.

