WIP Wednesday #36: Periwig

A periwig, if you’re curious, is a highly styled wig worn formerly as a fashionable headdress by both women and men and retained by judges and barristers as part of their professional dress. I assure you, this is relevant to this week’s discussion of my works in progress.

Work continues on Book #4. I hit the 82,000 word mark today, which would be awesome if I was close to being done, but I’m not. I estimate about 20-25,000 words remaining. All things considered, it isn’t that bad, but I was hoping to be done before next week. The deadline isn’t until the end of next month, but I’ve got other things to work on, and this book’s run a bit long. It’s the nature of the story, though. A sort of Dante-esque journey into Hell, only with Stormcast Eternals instead of an Italian writer. And less symbolism. More monsters. That sort of thing.

As with everything, I can already spot places where it needs improvement. Little rough spots that need sanding down, or, conversely, smooth spots that need a bit of roughening up, for texture. I suspect that I’m trying to do too much with this book, as happened with Fabius Bile: PrimogenitorThere’s lots of stuff I wanted to get in, and some bits of it fit better than others. Possibly, I’m being a bit indulgent–do I really need skaven plague monks riding giant, poison-breathing bats, or a scene featuring a plaguebearer in a periwig? Feel free to let me know in the comments.

Or, it could simply be that I need an additional 20-30,000 words to play with, because that’s what the story requires. Maybe this is just one of those books that needs to be a doorstop, whatever my inclinations.

But, all of that is for the revising stage. Right now, all that matters is getting the draft hammered out. Which I intend to do, come hell or high water. Hopefully next week, but I’ll settle for end of the month.

I’m keeping that daemon in a periwig in, though. That’s my legacy for the future, right there. My gift to the generations yet to be.

Speaking of daemons, why not check out Shakespeare Vs Cthulhuedited by Jonathan Green, and featuring stories by myself, among others? Available in hardcover and paperback.

