WIP Wednesday #32: Aaron Blur

Get it? Aaron Blur? Like Burr. Aaron Burr. Third vice president of the United States. Shot Alexander Hamilton. No? Isn’t there like a musical or something now? Was that a thing? Anyway, I thought that’d be a perfect super-type name. Aaron Blur, Fastest Politician Alive.

Look, I’m having a weird day, okay? Forget it. On to the weekly update.

Novel #4 of 2016 is sitting pretty at 28,000 words out of 80,000. So far, so good. All of the characters have been introduced (or re-introduced, depending), story arcs have been set up, and things are clicking along. And by clicking along, I mean they’re about to go horribly, horribly wrong. But wrong in an exciting way.

Really, this is an all round exciting book, for a few reasons, none of which I can talk about yet. Maybe later, if I get the go-ahead. It answers quite a few long-standing questions about this particular universe and these particular characters, in what I hope will be a satisfactory manner.

I should hit the halfway mark sometime next week–Tuesday or Wednesday. At that point, I’m probably going to have to take a day or so to block out the next ten or fifteen scenes. I know what I need to happen, but only in a general sort of way. I have to break it down even further, into individual scenes, in order to keep all of the story arcs/moments moving in the right direction.

Related to this, I spent Monday and Tuesday working on the rough pitch for Book #5. This one’s a bit shorter than either #4 or #6, but that’s probably a good thing. It’s a setting I haven’t worked in before, but dealing with several characters that I’ve written, and recently. I’m a bit nervous about this one, but the editors seemed to like the general gist of my pitch, so we’ll see how it goes.

On the novella front, I’ve moved my CRYPTID CLASH novella a few paces closer to the end zone. It’s hanging tight at 13,000 words. I estimate between 7-10,000 words before the first draft is finished. So, not much, but also not something I can finish in a day. I have a few months before it’s due, so I might back-burner it for a week or three. I hate to do that, but I have other projects, with tighter deadlines.

Case in point: “The Uninvited Guest”. My current short story in progress. I’m 2,000 words into what I figure will be a 3,000 word draft. One good day would be enough to muscle it over the finish line, so I’ll probably sneak it in this weekend. After I finish it, I have another story, tentatively titled “La Chauve-souris”, to start next week or the week after, for a late September submission deadline. I also managed to revise a short story for Black Library this week. Another fun one, with that old world flavour, some sport and even a bit of romance.

And that’s what I’ve been working on this week.

