WIP Wednesday #29: Watanabe

Busy week this week, in ways other than writing. Much to-ing and fro-ing, hither and yon. Over river and under mountain. I am walking to and fro in the deep places. So, not much actual, y’know, work this week.

I managed to drag Inzignanin over the 10,000 word mark, which could be construed as the halfway mark, but–ha! No. Probably not. We’ll see. Characters have been positioned, motivations explored. Now, we get to the meat of it.

Thank you, Ken Watanabe.

I’ve also managed to muscle the new short story into something resembling completion. 10,000 words. There is a fight with a kraken. There are ghosts who might be hallucinations. I am mostly satisfied with it, because besides the bit with the kraken, there’s less fisticuffs and more arguing with the aforementioned hallucinations.

I maintain that verbal sparring is a viable source of conflict, even in this sort of story. Hopefully, maybe. If I did it right. We’ll see what the editors say.

But that’s pretty much it, this week. As I said, busy.

Anyway, if you haven’t picked up a copy of the newest entry in the Adventures of the Royal Occultist, The Infernal Express, why not do so today? And if you’ve already read and enjoyed it, feel free to leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads. Just a thought.

