WIP Wednesday #27: Positivity

The long, slow crawl towards Halloween begins here. Well, technically, it began last November. Hey, a guy can have a favourite holiday, can’t he? Only three months. Positive thoughts.

I finished the first draft of the The Sea-Leopard on the Sunday. 125k of swashbuckling, political espionage, pirate-fighting fantasy, loosely based on the real-world historical event known as the Uskok War. I’m both relieved and pleasantly surprised to have finished it, only eight months after starting it.

That sounds like a long time, I know, but bear in mind that I wrote two other novels and two novellas in that time as well. So eight months is pretty good going, I think.  Now, if some publisher will just buy it, I can get to work on the sequel, tentatively titled A Woman of Means. 

I’ve also just finished both a 6k word short story and an 3k word audio script for Black Library, the latter featuring a character I’ll be writing more about next year, if all goes well. I’ve got another three short stories to write for BL before the end of next month, one of which will also deal with the character mentioned above.

Besides those, this week I’m working on an introduction for a book that’ll be out later this year and the revisions for The Divine Drowned, the novella I’m working on with David Edwards, for Imperiad Entertainment.

Too, I’m hoping to find some time to start on my contribution to CRYPTID CLASH! next week. I’ve spoken about this before. The novella will be a punch-up between the Lizardman of Scape Ore Swamp and the Third Eye Man. I’ve been looking forward to starting this one for a few months now.

And that’s what I’ve been working on this week.

Oh, and if you haven’t picked up a copy of the newest entry in the Adventures of the Royal Occultist, The Infernal Express, why not do so today? And if you’ve already read and enjoyed it, feel free to leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads. Just a thought.

