WIP Wednesday #25: Two-Five

This week has been busy. Lots of things, all needing to be done soonest.

The Sea Leopard continues its crawl towards a complete first draft. At 110,000 word mark, I’ve finally reached the downward slide into the climax. I’m hoping to have the first draft completed by the weekend, but in all likelihood, work will continue well into next week. Which isn’t the end of the world, schedule-wise, but closer than I like to cut it.

It’s a flaw in the design–there are possibly too many moving pieces, and all need to be nudged to a satisfying conclusion. Seven main characters, eight secondary characters and a host of tertiary characters, all scrambling for space. Some will be excised entirely from the second draft, while others might get their parts expanded slightly. I’m trying not to think about that yet.

On the short story front, I’ve been working on a small one for an unfamiliar intellectual property, which I can’t really discuss. It’s fun, though. Bit of a farce, with added magic and zombies.

Once I finish this one, I’ve got five more short stories to write before the end of September. Which sounds like a lot, but really isn’t. That’s three whole months, after all.

I’ve also revised a few pitches at the request of various editors, made a few new pitches, and signed various contracts for things I can’t discuss yet. Like I said, a busy week.

By the way, if you haven’t picked up a copy of the newest entry in the Adventures of the Royal Occultist, The Infernal Express, why not do so today? And if you’ve already read and enjoyed it, feel free to leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads.

