WIP Wednesday #24: Fatigue

It’s week 24 out of…however many weeks are in a year. Is it a leap year? Does that matter? Probably not. The work continues regardless.

The first draft of The Sea-Leopard has broken the 100K mark. It currently stands at 101,987 words. There’s not many left, thankfully.

I’ve reached that point in the draft where I see more problems than solutions. Too many characters, the plot is too complex, too many moving parts, etc. Partly, this is due to the length. This isn’t the longest book I’ve ever written–Neferata was 120K and Lord of the End Times was close to 140K–but it ‘s in the top three. I’ve been working on it on and off since November of last year, which might also account for my narrative fatigue.

Then, it might also just be that the draft will need a substantial overhaul once it’s complete. The only way to find out is to complete it. There comes a point in any writing process where sheer, dogged persistence is the only skill that matters. Where the writer has to drag the manuscript, bleeding and exhausted, over the finish line by any means necessary.

I am at that point. I will finish this draft before July. One way or another.

In happier news, I finished the draft for “Cemetery Gun” today. Rounding out at about 4,000 words, it’s a brutal little fantasy thriller featuring gun-play, grave-robbers and ghouls. I’ll let it sit for a few weeks before I attempt to revise it, but I’m fairly happy with it as is. I don’t have a market in mind for it yet, but I’m sure it’ll find a good home, eventually.

With that out of the way, I can concentrate on revising “Orbis Tertius”, an old, unpublished, Royal Occultist story, for a new occult detective themed market which has come to my attention. “Orbis Tertius” is an unabashed homage to one of my favourite short stories, “Tlon, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius”, by Jorge Luis Borges, and finds St. Cyprian and Gallowglass facing off against a predatory alternate reality in the heart of London.

Speaking of the Royal Occultist, if you haven’t picked up a copy of the newest entry in the Adventures of the Royal Occultist, The Infernal Express, why not do so today? And if you’ve already read and enjoyed it, feel free to leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads.

2 comments

  1. Congrats on the progress, Josh! Breaking 100K is a big milestone. It may seem disorganized and daunting now, but I’m sure once you’ve put it on the shelf for a bit like you’re doing with Cemetery Gun, that you’ll be able to tackle it with a new fervor.

    And I added The Whitechapel Demon to my “want to read” list on Goodreads as I have never heard of the series before but the description sounds thrilling.

    Looking forward to hearing more about your writing!

Comments are closed.