WIP Wednesday #21: Abiding Folly

The work continues apace. Inspiration is ground beneath the stone of process, turned into the millet of…something? Never mind. Anyway, week 21. Wonders and horrors abide herein.

Well, not really. Fairly standard. I’m still working on the novella for Imperiad Entertainment–working title “The Divine Drowned”–at a nice clip. I hit 33,000 words today, leaving somewhere between 7 and 10,000 to go before I run up against my word limit. I plan on finishing it up this weekend, if possible. Work on this one has been relatively steady, which is always nice. I’ve got the rhythm of it now, just in time to wrap up the first draft.

If you’re wondering, by ‘steady’ I mean 2-3000 words per day. I don’t actually know when or why I settled on 2,000 words as my per diem target. At 2,000 words a day, seven days a week, I can have an 80,000 word draft finished in roughly little over a month. Those 2,000 words tend to take me 2-4 hours a day, which theoretically leaves me bags of time to work on other projects.

In practice, that happens less than I’d like. Sometimes writing those 2,000 words is about all I can manage, before I need to recharge my batteries. Other times, I’ll do 3 or 4,000 words per project, per day for a few days. But for the most part, it caps out at 2 a day, for a grand total of 14,000 a week. Not a huge amount, but dependable.

Besides the novella, I managed to edit both “The Hound’s Daughter” and “The Thunder, His Passing” on Sunday and Monday. I added some words, a fight scene or two, and pruned a few of the more indulgent sections of dialogue before submitting both. That makes for seven stories written and submitted for the year so far. Three of those have already been accepted for publication, which is a pretty good rate. I’ve only got one other on the go at the moment–the previously mentioned “Cemetery Gun”, which I’m hoping to get back to next week.

I don’t have any particular market in mind for it. Sometimes it’s nice to just write something for the fun of it, rather than having a market in mind. No worrying about deadlines or word counts. Just letting the story go where it wants. I should probably do it more often.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been working on. In other news, Phileas Fogg and the Heart of Osra is still available to preorder, and The Infernal Express is available to download. Why not grab a copy of one or both?

