Just Write the Damn Thing

Today I’ll be turning things over to my compatriot, Bob Freeman, as part of the virtual tour for his newest novel, Keepers of the Dead, the second book in the Cairnwood Manor series. There’s a full itinerary for the tour available, if you’re interested, as well as links to the novels. I heartily recommend that you try them, as well as the rest of Bob’s writing, out post-haste.

BobFreemanTourBadge

A question often asked is “when did you know you wanted to be a writer”, but more importantly for me is not when I wanted to be one, but when I actually became one…

For me, the lightning struck the first time I typed the words “The End” after I completed my novel Shadows Over Somerset. Here’s how I see it… How many times have we been at a dinner party or the local watering hole and you’re chatting someone up and the question  gets asked, “So, what do you do?” Invariably, as soon as you say ‘writer’, your conversational foil will respond with, “You know, I’ve always thought about writing a book.” How often do you think biochemists or brain surgeons hear that? The short answer is none, and it’s because most people think writing is easy, until that is, they sit down to actually do the work.

I fell into that category, thinking of myself as a writer long before I had actually paid my dues, staring down the demon that is the blank page, and seeing the battle through to the bitter end. Oh, I’d started dozens upon dozens of novels, none of them getting past the first paragraph or so. Writing is hard work. You spill your guts with every keystroke and the ink as it strikes the paper is drawn from your own sweat and blood. Did I just show my age? I think you catch my meaning just the same.

So, yes, my first and most important battle in my quest toward becoming an author was, in my opinion, the most crucial for each and every one of us who have chosen this path. I sat myself down in a chair and I wrote the damn thing. And you know what, I’ve never looked back. Each successive novel has come easier. Of course new challenges arise, but that’s okay… such is the nature of the beast.


BobFreemanKeepersoftheDeadAuthorPhotoBob Freeman is an author, artist, and paranormal adventurer who’s most recent novel is Keepers of the Dead, published by Seventh Star Press.

A lifelong student of mythology, folklore, magic, and religion, Freeman has written numerous short stories, articles, and reviews for various online and print publications and is a respected lecturer on the occult and paranormal phenomena.

He lives in rural Indiana with his wife Kim and son Connor.

Mr. Freeman can be found online at his website: occultdetective.com, as well as on social media at twitter.com/occultdetective and facebook.com/authorbobfreeman

THE VAMPIRE MACGREGOR LIVES…

“Foolish pup,” MacGregor chided the werewolf, “you don’t get it. Laddie, if water were evil I’d be but a drop. What lurks below is an ocean.”

From the haunted halls of Cairnwood Manor to the bowels of Rosslyn Chapel, Bob Freeman hurls you into the very heart of the eternal conflict between the forces of darkness and the forces of light.

It’s fang versus claw, spell versus steel, and love versus death in an epic battle of blood and thunder.

When a sinister cabal converges to unleash the ultimate evil against an unsuspecting world, only the combined strength of the Wolves of Cairnwood Manor and the Circle of Nine Skulls offers up a glimmer of hope as werewolves, vampires, witches, immortal warriors, and an army of the undead collide in a battle of epic bloodshed.

Shadows Over Somerset and Keepers of the Dead are available from Seventh Star Press.

One comment

Comments are closed.