WIP Wednesday #17: Stay on Target

Seventeen weeks in. I’ve written three books, four short stories, one novella and four pitches. I have also rewritten one of the aforementioned books. It’s been a busy four months.

I finished the rewrites to the Novel-With-No-Name early Monday. 100,000 words pruned down to 88,000. Subplots were excised, characters tweaked, jokes extracted. I mentioned my issues with this one last week, so I won’t go into them again. Suffice to say, I’m not entirely satisfied with the rewrite. I think the new version is better, in many ways. It’s leaner. Faster. But it lacks something. Or maybe not. I should probably leave that to the editors and the readers to determine, I suppose.

With that I finished, I’ve started on the revisions to The Sea Leopard. After excising the extraneous material, I was left with around 84k, which is more than I expected. No massive sea battles in this version, but more swashbuckling to make up for it. I’m looking forward to getting this draft finished. It’s got jokes, pirates, leopard-goddesses…the works.

I’ve got two stories sitting half finished, as well: “Cemetery Gun” and “The Hound’s Daughter”. I’m hoping to push forward on one or both later this week. “The Hound’s Daughter” actually has a deadline to it, so I’m aiming to see it done by the end of May. Too, it’s always something of a relief to get back to a Royal Occultist story. I’ve written enough of them by now that I can do it without too much trouble, but they’re still fun to work on.

And that’s what I’ve been working on this week. What about you?

