Zibaldone #11: The Brazen Head of Frankenstein

Today, in lieu of real content, I have a few random assortments from my commonplace book. Automatons, Italian cinema and a grimoire. All the ingredients for an interesting Monday.

Brazen heads. Mechanical or magical automaton. Answers any question put to it, albeit in a ‘yes or no’ sort of way. Connected to alchemy and occultism. Also, ‘the Skull of Balsamo’ is too good not to use in some fashion. Either as a title or a macguffin. Possibly a Royal Occultist or Jim Anthony, Super-Detective, story.

The Monster of Frankenstein. Il Mostro di Frankenstein. 1920s Italian silent horror film. Lost film. Very little is known about it, though I fully expect someone to show up in the comments and say otherwise. This is one of those things that I really, really want to do something with, but for the life of me, can’t figure out what. Is it the germ of a Royal Occultist story? A ghost story? I’ll figure it out eventually.

The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses. Grimoires. I do love grimoires. Especially ones used by Moses to defeat the magicians of Egypt. And ones mentioned in Manly Wade Wellman stories. These things are like multi-tools. Good for any sort of story, really.

5df62b

2 comments

Comments are closed.