Conqueror of the Crawling Contest

The Crawling Contest of Ghur officially closed last night at midnight, leaving me with around fifty entries to pore over. And believe you me, that was no easy thing…they were excellent, each and every one. From Tyler Mengel’s slick-looking Retributors to Amy Snuggs’ wonderful Dread Saurian, each entry displayed such an impressive level of skill (not to mention reminding me just how *bad* I am at painting miniatures…) that I wish I had a few dozen more copies of the book to hand out.

But, alas, I’ve got just the one. So, this morning, I made my choice, based on various highly scientific metrics (i.e. what I thought was cool). And the winner is…

Wayne Kemp

Congratulations, Wayne. You win a copy of my newest Age of Sigmar novel, Legends of the Age of Sigmar: Skaven Pestilens.

I chose this one for a few reasons…one, it’s been converted, and I dig that. Two, I like the paint job. It’s simple, but effective, with plenty of nice little touches–the coloring of the brand on the wolf-rat’s flank, and the greasy look to the warpstone shard on the staff, for instance. Third, and most importantly, it’s a rat riding a slightly larger rat, which made me laugh.

Highly scientific metrics, as I said.

As I mentioned above, I really do wish I had about twenty more copies  to give away, and I want to thank everyone who took the time to enter the contest, and send me a pic. There wasn’t a bad one in the bunch. Y’all are some talented folks.

And if you missed out this time, don’t worry. I’ll be holding another contest in a few weeks to give away a copy of my next Age of Sigmar novel…

