WIP Wednesday #9: Wordalanche

Week nine and it’s a veritable wordalanche. Like an avalanche, only with words. Get it? Wordalanche. It’s thunderous…cacaphonous…deafening…raucous…horrisonant, even. You’ll have my thesaurus when you pry it from my cold, icy, dead, deceased fingers, chum.

The Novel-With-No-Name has reached 70,000 words as of this morning. It would have been 72,000 but I took a day off to work on the Short-Story-With-No-Name. I’m aiming to have it finished by this time next week, one way or another. Soonest done is soonest invoiced, as the saying goes.

I don’t know whether it’s the characters, or the plot or what, but this one feels as if it’s moving more quickly than normal. It’s not, but it feels that way. Frankly, I wish all my books flowed so smoothly. Maybe it’s the preponderance of dialogue over battle scenes. Maybe it’s just a sign that I’m getting better at what I do.

Meanwhile, the Short-Story-With-No-Name is holding steady at 8,000. I’m working more slowly on short stories this year, for whatever reason. Chipping them out, rather than hammering. This will be the third of the year, finished in the third month, which is nice.

I also worked on a barebones pitch for a second Novel-With-No-Name, as well as a few short stories. Regretably, The Sea-Leopard is in a holding pattern at the moment. At this rate, it’s going to be April before I can get to it in any serious capacity. Hopefully I can add some words to it later this week, or next.

So that’s what I’ve been working on. How about you?

