Coming Attractions-January 2016 Edition

I’ve got a fair few short stories that’ll be showing up this year, if the publishing winds hold fair. Bear with me while I talk about some of them, won’t you?

Unsurprisingly perhaps, these are all Royal Occultist stories. Every year I tell myself I’m going to cut back on writing these. Absence makes the heart grow fonder, and all that. But then I get invited to submit to anthologies, and I get ideas, and…well. Here we are. Three stories, three sales.

“The Fates of Dr. Fell” will be appearing in the anthology¬†Spawn of the Ripper, from April-Moon Books. It finds Charles St. Cyprian and his assistant, Ebe Gallowglass, on the train to Penzance, locked in a confrontation with a sinister fortune-teller for the souls of the innocent. “The Fates…” was an out-and-out homage to the old portmanteau horror films that Hammer and Amicus used to crank out, like ‘Dr. Terror’s House of Horrors’. It was great fun to write. I managed to sneak in cameos for Peter Cushing, Vincent Price and the late, great Christopher Lee among others. The book’s up for pre-order, by the way.

“Squatter’s Rights” will be appearing in the anthology¬†Children of Gla’aki, from Dark Regions Press. In it, St. Cyprian and Gallowglass do battle with Ramsey Campbell‘s fiendish creations in darkest Brichester. This one was a joy to work on, in more ways than one. I’ve been a fan of Ramsey Campbell for longer than I care to think about, and the chance to drop my characters into his world, however briefly, was impossible to resist.

“The Second Occupant” will be appearing in the anthology Gaslight Ghouls, from Chaosium. For the fourth time in their career, St. Cyprian and Gallowglass encounter a murderous mummy. This time, however, it’s the mummy from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s “Lot No. 249”, and he’s after poor Abercrombie Smith, looking for revenge. This was another fun one. “Lot No. 249” is one of my favorite short stories, mummy-related or otherwise, and I wasn’t going to pass up the opportunity to play with it a bit.

And those’re the coming attractions, January 2016 edition.

One comment

Comments are closed.