WIP Wednesday #4: Working for the Weekend

So far this year I’ve written close to 60,000 words. That’d be 15,000 words a week, or thereabouts. Still not enough, of course. Never enough. Projects crowd close, like hungry ghosts. On the other hand, I’ve had two whole days off this month, one of which I spent doing nothing but watching Hawaii Five-O reruns. Good times.

Today I managed to finish up the first draft of Phileas Fogg and the Heart of Osra, which has, in retrospect, turned out nothing like I imagined. Oh the skeleton of my pitch is there, but it didn’t unfold as I expected. There’s a different tone to things this time around. Not a bad thing, I think. I hope the editors share my opinion.

I also managed to finish my pitch for a work-for-hire novella project I’ll be writing in June-July. It’s an interesting one, with a massive scope and cosmology. Also submarines, sunken cities, and books that rewrite reality. I’m looking forward to working on it.

Things have been lax on The Sea-Leopard front. Characters have been shuffled, plotlines teased towards conclusion, battle scenes outlined, but not written. I’m so close to the end I can see it, but I keep having to push it aside in order to work on more immediate (i.e. paying) projects. The sad, frustrating lot of a jobbing writer.

Speaking of immediate projects, I’m 6K into my current novel. Which means only 74K to go. I would discuss it more in-depth, but there are non-disclosure agreements to be considered. I’ll be keeping a running word count tally here, but not much beyond that. Bear with me.

And that’s what I’m working on. What about you?

