WIP Wednesday #3: Stacking Words

A quick week, this week. Well, not quick–simple? Let’s go with simple. Nothing too strenuous, save the stacking of words, one atop the next. Good words, I hope, though I’ll settle for adequate. Three weeks in and I’m already lowering my standards. Probably doesn’t bode well.

I’ve hit 20K on my current project, which is well past the halfway mark. Another three or four days of work and I’ll have the first draft of Phileas Fogg and the Heart of Osra licked. Even better, I think I might’ve hit on a solid idea for the next story, should Meteor House be generous enough to invite me to contribute a third volume. Too, I’ve added a few new reference books to my stack for this project, including volume one of Win Scott Eckert’s Crossovers as well as Tales of the Wold Newton Universe, by Philip Jose Farmer and Win Scott Eckert. Both books receive my highest recommendations, and I encourage you to check them out.

I also managed to give a quick polish to “A Tiger’s Heart, A Player’s Hide”, my contribution to Shakespeare Vs Cthulhu. I cut some words, added a few more, and fussed over the rest. I’m happy with it, by and large. It’s a tad indulgent in spots, I think–the coach ride across London Bridge was a bit gratuitous–but I’m satisfied. The Royal Occultist, Dr. John Dee and his apprentice, William Sly, investigate a mysterious plague in Shoreditch, and find themselves drawn into a plot involving the latest play by one William Shakespeare…if that sounds cool, why not back the Kickstarter?

Speaking of John Dee, I’m making plans to go see this exhibition at the Royal College of Physicians some time in April, if possible. I’m looking forward to it quite a bit. Fictional adventures aside, Dee was an interesting historical figure–cartographer, alchemist, possible spy…a man of many talents. In his spare time, he also fought Cthulhu. Cool, right?

I’m also still plugging away on The Sea-Leopard. A few hundred words a day, maybe a 1-2K a week, between other projects. Slowly but surely is the name of the game here. I’m not far away from being done, but paying work comes first in this, as in all things.

Simple, like I said. Anyway, that’s what I’m working on. Feel free to share what you’re working on in the comments, if you like.

