WIP Wednesday #2: Ruritanian Romance

Two weeks and some change in, and I’m already looking for the EXIT sign. Since last week, I’ve managed to finish a short story, outline two more, nudge a novel towards completion and start a novella.

I managed to finish up the first draft of “A Tiger’s Heart, A Player’s Hide”, my contribution to Shakespeare Vs Cthulhu–which is still looking for backers on Kickstarter, by the by–around Thursday morning. It’s roughly 8,000 words, but that’ll likely get pared down some when I sit down to edit it this weekend.

Regarding first drafts, be they short stories or novels or what have you, I tend to let them simmer for a few days before I begin hacking at them, deadlines permitting. The longer the better, really. It gives me space to chew over anything plot or character-wise that’s been annoying me, as well as time for the urge to second-guess myself to die down some.

I also started Phileas Fogg and the Heart of Osra, my follow up novella to Phileas Fogg and the War of Shadows, this past weekend. Fogg has had his first encounter with a certain daredevil Ruritanian nobleman, and stepped hip-deep in the murky demimonde of Ruritanian politics. I’m about 8,000 words in and it’s smooth sailing so far. Then, the first 10K always is. It’s the middle bit that’s tricky, ain’t it?

Reference-wise, I’m utilizing Anthony Hope’s original novels, The Prisoner of Zenda and its sequel, Rupert of Hentzau, obviously, as well as Philip Jose Farmer’s The Other Log of Phileas FoggI’m also using Eric Christiansen’s The Northern Crusades for a bit of background on the villains of the piece. And, of course, the resources of the Wold Newton Family site are an essential part of a project like this.

And that’s what I’m working on. Feel free to share what you’re working on in the comments, if you like.

