WIP Wednesday #1: Tiger’s Heart

2016 is already looking busy. I say that with no small amount of satisfaction…’busy’ means money, after all. Potential money, at any rate. But isn’t all money potential money for someone? I think Lorenzo de’ Medici said that. Or maybe it was the Money Minute guy. Anyway, busy. 

Right now, my current work-in-progress is a short story called “A Tiger’s Heart, A Player’s Hide”. “Tiger’s Heart…” is my contribution to the Jonathan Green edited Shakespeare Vs. Cthulhu, which is still looking for backers on Kickstarter, by the by. It’s a Royal Occultist story, featuring the first man to hold the office–Dr. John Dee. Set in 1592, it finds Dee and his apprentice, William Sly, investigating a ‘plague of the mind’ running riot through the playhouses of Shoreditch and Bankside, and possibly involving a performance of a certain playwright’s latest work…

I’m about 3K words into the story and it’s coming along smoothly so far. I’m using a number of books for reference, including Ian Mortimer’s The Time Traveller’s Guide to Elizabethan England, Benjamin Woolley’s The Queen’s Conjurerand several by Peter Ackroyd, including London: The Biography and Shakespeare: The Biography

Besides “Tiger’s Heart…”, I’m also plugging along with The Sea-Leopard, my pirates-n-politics fantasy novel. So far I’ve cleared a cool 88K words, which is nothing to sneeze at for…seven weeks work? I tend to write between 10K-14K a week, on average, so that sounds about right. I have no idea how long it’ll end up being, though I’m hoping it won’t be much more than 100k.

After a wind up “Tiger’s Heart…” I’ll be starting work on a new Wold Newton-related novella for Meteor House, Phileas Fogg and the Heart of Osra. It’s a follow-up to my 2014 novella, Phileas Fogg and the War of Shadows (of which there are a few copies left, if you haven’t gotten yours yet). Heart of Osra finds Fogg investigating the connection between a stolen gem and conspiratorial cult in Anthony Hope’s Ruritania, in the months following the events of War of Shadows. 

And that’s what I’m working on. What about you? Feel free to share your WIPs in the comments, if you like.

One comment

Comments are closed.