The Year to Come

The year’s not quite over yet but I’ve already got a few projects lined up for 2016. Not many, but a few. Because I like to stay busy, me.

Most of them are writing-related, natch. Others are social-media type stuff…I’ve mentioned before that I’ll be slowly overhauling both this blog and The Royal Occultist site, as well as cleaning up my Facebooks and Tweeters and such. 

Regarding my writing schedule for 2016, well, so far there’s a short story to write for Shakespeare Vs Cthulhu, three novellas to write, including one for Meteor House, and two novels to complete before the middle of the year.

One of these will be the follow-up to the much-delayed third Royal Occultist novel, The Infernal Express. Tentatively titled The Royal Occultist, it opens with a demonically-assisted prison-break, and takes St. Cyprian and Gallowglass on a guided tour of the history of the title of the Queen’s Conjurer and the sins of its former bearers. There will also be a dragon. I’m looking forward to digging into it.

And then there’s CRYPTID CLASH!, the novella series I’m co-editing with James Bojaciuk for 18th Wall Productions. I’ve written about this a bit already, but it’s so exciting I thought I’d share it twice. Eight novella-length monster Vs monster brawls, featuring krakens, bigfeet, lizardmen, giant boars, Mongolian deathworms, Appalachian horrors, three-eyed hobos and more.

Besides work, I’d like to try my hand at some hobby-type foolishness, if only to give myself something to do that doesn’t involve staring at a computer screen. And recently, I’ve been reading through the rules for both Lion Rampant and Frostgrave. So, come the beginning of the new year, I’ll hopefully be starting up a project for one or t’other.

That’s what I’ve got planned so far for 2016. What about you? Feel free to share in the comments.

