Lost in Translation

The new issue of the Japanese dark fiction magazine, Night Land Quarterly is now available. It includes a translation of my Royal Occultist story, “The Dreaming Dead”, as well as stories by Brian M. Sammons, David Conyers, Konstantine Paradias, Robert E. Howard and William Hope Hodgson.

298a6311fa0de3713cc3a64d72944534

“The Dreaming Dead” first appeared in the 2011 Miskatonic River Press anthology, Horror for the Holidays, and was reprinted last year in The Royal Occultist: Haunted Holidays. The latter is still available to download for free, by the by, if you’re interested.

If you’re interested, this marks the fifth story I’ve had translated into a foreign language, and the first time I’ve had one in Japanese. It’s also the first one I’ve sold independently of the English language version. Therefore, I’d like to celebrate in the chosen manner of my people, with an assist from Tom Waits.

 

