WIP Wednesday (February Edition)

Another month, another project. That’s how it feels sometimes. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good feeling, but man…it’s only February, and my schedule is chock full of interesting things, all demanding my attention. If you’re interested in hearing about that sort of thing, by all means read on.

At the end of January, I finished what is likely to be my last Executioner novel, which sees Mack Bolan face off against Somali pirates, mercenaries and the representatives of a number of criminal organizations aboard a solar-powered super yacht in the Gulf of Aden. I had a lot of fun writing this one, for all that it was a bittersweet experience. I greatly enjoyed writing my other entries in the series–#408: Border Offensive, #429: Arctic Kill and #441: Murder Island–and I’m more than a bit sad that I won’t get to write the others I was contracted for. Still, I got to write four books in one of the longest running men’s adventure series in the history of the genre, and that’s more than most folks.

When February rolled around, I started a my second novel-length project of 2015, this one for Black Library. Unfortunately, I can’t say anything about this one, other than it’s BIG and that I’m still working on it.

Once that’s finished, I’ll be endeavoring to complete the third Royal Occultist novel, The Infernal Express. This one is pretty much done, bar the climactic final sequence, which is a nice change of pace from last year, when work on The Jade Suit of Death started late and ran two months longer than I had hoped. Granted, the latter was mostly due to the extensive rewrites (something I may, or may not, write about later) that book required, but still.

At any rate, when the contracted projects are wrapped up, I’m hoping to squeeze out a few months to work on The Sea Leopard, a fantasy novel I’ve had bubbling away in the back of my head for a few years now. It’s a second world fantasy novel, with a setting analogous to Renaissance Italy, and the Mediterranean, full of mercenaries, pirates, skulduggery and espionage. More about this later, hopefully.

On the short fiction front, I’ve made a number of submissions so far this year–fourteen, as a matter of fact. Of those, four stories have been accepted, and another four have been rejected, if you were curious. Three were submitted in the past week, and I have another five anthology invitations to get to before the year’s end.

And as far as works-in-progress on the go, that’s the lot.

