Learning Curve

So, a few days ago, I made my first homegrown ebook, The Royal Occultist: Haunted Holidays, available for purchase on the Royal Occultist site. Two dollars buys you a collection of five stories–four reprints and one all new story–in .MOBI, .EPUB, and PDF formats. Pretty good deal, I thought. Other people did as well, because I’ve sold like a dozen copies since I first made the collection available. So far, so good. 

However, I’ve had a number of difficulties in ensuring that the folks who were kind enough to purchase it actually got a copy as soon as they ponied up the cash. Some folks received it immediately, but others, not so much. I blame gremlins. Regardless, that meant that I had to chase things up and make sure that everyone got what they paid for.

The learning curve, it is steep. Especially when dealing with the vagaries of Paypal.

But, ain’t nobody got time for that. Especially not me. So, I figure this is the universe’s way of poking a thumb in my eye, and reminding me of some things, i.e. ’tis the season of giving. So, to that end, I have done two things:

1) I have donated the thirty odd bucks I’ve made off of the collection to date to RSPCA Sheffield, my local animal shelter. It’s where we got the murderous, fuzzy albino chainsaw my wife calls a cat, so I figure we owe them.

2) I have made Haunted Holidays free to download. Click the link at the bottom of the page, download a .zip file. I only ask that you kick a few bucks to RSPCA Sheffield or the charity of your choice after you do so, in lieu of payment.

And that’s it. Go forth and be charitable.

