The Baddest Man (Un)Alive: The (Unofficial) Arkhan the Black Mixtape

A few days ago, I posted ‘The Nine Tracks of Nagash’, my unofficial End Times mixtape, celebrating the macabre machinations of Mannfred von Carstein, one of the protagonists of The Return of NagashI intended it to be a one off, but people started asking if I had made something similar for the book’s other major character–Arkhan the Black.  Which I had. So, I figured why not share that one as well? As before, this is made up of some of the songs I was listening to when I wrote scenes featuring the character.

Like his partner in crime, Arkhan is both a hero and a villain. Unlike Mannfred, I find Arkhan a bit more sympathetic, if only because he has less choice in doing what he’s doing, and is more self-aware than his untrustworthy partner. Arkhan knows there’s no happy ending in store for him, but he keeps moving forward, doing what he knows must be done.  Also, he’s got that whole ‘doomed romance’ thing going with Neferata and that’s pretty cool.

Anyway, I’ve embedded the tracks below, as before. Enjoy!

nagashvssettra

22-08-nagash-std

