2014: Six Months In

Six months into 2014, and several things have become apparent to me. First, I’m godawful at scheduling regular (or even semi-regular) updates for this site. Second, it doesn’t seem to have effected the site’s stats in any meaningful way. Third, I don’t know whether I should care about that or not. 

I’m going to go with ‘not’. I got better things to do.

What better things are those, you might ask? Well Johnny, I say, as I tousle your hair in a paternal, yet friendly manner, that’d be telling, now wouldn’t it?

Then I’d laugh all menacingly, slow at first, and then more loudly, like Sideshow Bob in that one episode of The Simpsons where he ran for mayor. Remember that episode? That was great, right? Yeah.

Anyway, I’m currently working on Book #5 for the year. I can’t tell you the title is or what it’s about, but I can say it’s for Black Library. As was Book #1 and Book #4, interestingly. No, I can’t tell you the titles of those either. I CAN talk about Book #2 and Book #3, however.

Book #2 was Jade Suit of Death, the sequel to The Whitechapel Demon and the second installment in the ‘Adventures of the Royal Occultist’. Jade Suit… sees Charles St. Cyprian and Ebe Gallowglass confront the machinations of a murderous cult, a sinister demon, and the monstrous secret contained in the eponymous jade suit. So, business as usual for the Royal Occultist and his plucky (yet murderous) assistant.

Book #3 was my third entry in the long running Executioner series, writing under the house name of ‘Don Pendleton’. It involves arms dealers, mercenaries, a psychopathic head-hunter and more saltwater crocodiles than is entirely healthy. My previous entries in the series, Border Offensive and Arctic Kill, are available for purchase and pre-order, respectively, if you’re interested.

As far as books released this year, there have been three: Gotrek & Felix: The Serpent QueenThe Vril Agenda and the aforementioned Arctic Kill, which is available for pre-order.

On the short fiction front, I’ve had a number of short stories appear in print this year. “Mordiggian’s Due”, my sword & sorcery tale of ghouls and necromancy, appeared in Libram Mysterium; “Dead Men’s Bones”, my World War I-era zombie-kaiju story, appeared in Kaiju Rising; “Dead Man’s Tongue”, a tale of Tibetan sorcery, appeared in The Dark Rites of Cthulhu;  “The Briggs Hill Path”, a satyr/Cthulhu Mythos story, appeared in Song of the Satyrs; “Hochmuller’s Hound”, another WWI-era story, about brain transplants and killer dogs, appeared in Blood Trails; “Mr. Brass and the City of Devils”, a steampunk/Cthulhu Mythos story, appeared, appropriately enough in Steampunk Cthulhu; and, finally, “Bernheimer’s Gun”, a Warhammer Fantasy story, is available as an electronic download from the Black Library site.

What I haven’t done is written much, a fact which brings me no end of disappointment. I’m not joking here–I’m actually quite annoyed with myself. I’ve been a bit lazy this year. I’ve only written a novella and five short stories, two of which were, like the novella, for Black Library. So not much at all to show for six months. Granted, the stories were all commissioned, which is a nice change of pace, but still…lazy.

That said, I have been occupied this year reading for my first (co) edited anthology, A Grimoire of Eldritch Inquests, which has been a much more rewarding experience than I expected. Seriously, I’ve read a lot of good stories for this anthology, and I’m quite impressed with the overall level of quality in the submissions to date. I think the final product is going to be the best damn collection of occult detective stories (To come out in 2014. Co-edited by me. From Emby Press.) By the way, if you’re interested in submitting, you’ve got one month left. No pressure.

On the non-fiction side of things, I’ve started a new essay for my long-dormant ‘Nightmare Men’ series at Black Gate, on Frank Lauria’s ‘Dr. Orient’ series. I’ve got essays planned for Mark Valentine’s occult detective Ralph Tyler, and Bob Freeman’s Landon Connors as well. I’m really hoping to get these written before the end of the year.

And that is pretty much it for the first six months of 2014.

