CARNACKI: THE NEW ADVENTURES contents!

I’m not going to lie–I’m really quite excited about being a part of this particular anthology. I’ve been a fan of William Hope Hodgson’s work since I was a wee sprat of a student, and a fan of Carnacki the Ghost-Finder in particular. But “Monmouth’s Giants” isn’t just a Carnacki story–it’s also the long-awaited origin story for the Royal Occultist! As ghastly phantasmal giants stalk the crypts of Guildhall in 1914, Thomas Carnacki takes a young Charles St. Cyprian under his wing in an encounter that will change the course of the latter’s life…forever.

william hope hodgson

CARNACKI copyI’m still waiting for confirmation on a couple of items but want to announce the following contents for the upcoming anthology:

William Miekle–“Captain Gault’s Nemesis”

Josh Reynolds–“Monmouth’s Giants”

Jim Beard–“The Haunting of Tranquil House”

P.V. Ross–“A Gaslight Horror”

Robert Pohle–“Carnacki & The President’s Vampire”

Fred Blosser–“The Spar: A Story of Carnacki”

Buck Weiss–“The Magician’s Study”

Amy K. Marshall–“The Ghosts of Kuskulana”

Please note that this is not the final list of contents or even the final order.  Congratulations to all these fine authors and I’ll update with publication information very shortly!

View original post

4 comments

  1. To be honest, I have mixed feelings about pastiche stories. They can be done very well, of course, but they also run the risk of feeling like imitation instead of innovation, more something old than something new.

    I guess the ideal pastiche needs to cautiously balance between the two.

    And “Monmouth’s Giants” appears to be a great balance between the two. By merging Carnacki with the Royal Occultist, you have a built-in “old and new.” I’m looking forward to it!

    (It’s also kind of neat that Charles St. Cyprian’s mentor was an established occult detective with cases of his own. My own Vera Van Slyke learned her trade from Harry Escott, Fitz-James O’Brien’s occult detective character.)

  2. I find most pastiches fairly enjoyable, even the less well done ones. Then, I prize enthusiasm in writers, and no one authors a pastiche without a good deal of that. But I do agree that there’s a difference between innovation and imitation, and striving for a nice balance is the way to go.

    It’s a bit like doing a cover of a famous song, isn’t it? You always want to put your own spin on it, and give it a unique stamp, even if that stamp involves tossing in Dracula and Cthulhu and hoping for the best.*

    And I hope you enjoy “Monmouth’s Giants”. I liked the idea of having St. Cyprian’s mentor/predecessor being a (what I thought at the time was) little-known occult detective, as a way of grounding him in the tradition, in much the same way as the creators of Nick Carter had him being the pupil of Sherlock Holmes.

    * If anyone reading this knows of a book (or BOOKS) where Sherlock Holmes teams up with Dracula to fight the Cthulhu cult in Victorian London, please let me know in the comments ASAP.

Comments are closed.