A Helping Hand for Eugie Foster

Eugie Foster taught me the difference between ‘sci-fi’ and ‘science fiction’. True story. She did this over the course of giving me an opportunity to read and review for The Fix, a sadly now-defunct fantasy and science-fiction review site, and I don’t believe I ever properly thanked her, though I like to think I did. She was one of the best editors I’ve ever had, and she’s one of the best writers I’ve ever had the good fortune to read. 

She’s a Nebula Award winner. A proud skunk owner. She’s one of those writers that, when I read them, encourages me to up my game a bit. Really, she’s just an all around wonderful person, who really makes me wish I was better at being social, so I could mention that on occasion.

She also has cancer.

Luckily, she’s got insurance. Unluckily, insurance being what it is, it ain’t nearly going to cover what it ought. But, she does have a number of books what you can buy, to help her defray the costs of it all. I encourage you to do so and post haste. Every little bit helps.

