‘I Ain’t Dead, Said The Dancing Monkey’

Some folks have recently asked why I haven’t been posting as regularly as I normally do, i.e. 3-5 times a week. The simple answer is, of course, ‘Do I look like a dancing monkey? No? Then f*ck off.’

A more polite answer would be, ‘nothing much is going on’. I’ve been writing at a fairly steady clip since January, rattling off two books, a novella and a dozen short stories, plus edits, but the past two months have been fairly quiet in regards to sales and such. This ain’t to say that I haven’t made them, but that I can’t, as yet, expound upon them. When I can, I will, but I can’t, so I won’t.

I could talk about my works in progress I suppose, but when I moved this dog and pony show over from its last residence, I made a solemn oath not to slip back into that daily word-count mentality. The truth is, my works in potentia aren’t very interesting to anyone except me, hence the rare WIP updates.*

There are other things I could talk about, mind. Lots of big, chewy topics just built for loud-mouth authors like me to rail about from their precarious platforms–political shenanigans, awards flimflams and national tragedies, none of which appeal to me, for various different reasons. I could respond to pieces and essays about writing from other writers, as I am occasionally wont to do. But I won’t, because I’m busy, and I’d rather spend that ten minutes I’d need to respond to something someone else wrote on my own writing, y’know?

Basically, I’m just not very good at this whole blogging thing at the moment. If you were looking to me for your daily entertainment allotment, I apologize.

All that said, once all of the things currently vying for my attention have been seen to and the slate has been wiped clean in the coming weeks, I will have some substantive items of what I hope will be interest lined up. Stuff about writing, about submissions and all that jazz. Contests too, as well as free stuff. Stick around. I’ll make it worth your while.

The best is yet to come, and all that.

