Roll On 2013

It’s only been four months since I started this ‘all-new, all-different’ blog, but it feels like a lot longer. Part of that’s the year coming to a close. There’s a part of me that thinks I should have waited until January 1st, 2013 to start posting here, but given that that’s the same part of me that wants to trash it and start over with a new blog every time I write a post, in pursuit of some mythical professional perfection, I’m happy to ignore it.  More year-end rambling below. 

I’ve blogged far more regularly these past four months than in my previous attempts. This is mostly due to there simply being more to write about, from a self-promotional standpoint. I’ve had three books–Knight of the Blazing Sun, Neferata: Blood of Nagash and The Executioner: Border Offensive–come out this year, with a fourth–Gotrek & Felix: Road of Skullsup for pre-order, as well as more than a dozen short stories published, and an equal number sold. And I talked about what I’m working on, novel-wise. Heck, I got a Goodreads page!

I’ve shared my opinion a bit more, on such topics as Lovecraft, racism and–perhaps most controversial of all–Frankenstein. And not just my opinion! Luminaries such as Sarah Cawkwell, Jonathan Green and Greg Mitchell have all written guest-posts.

I’ve discussed my work as well, talking about some of my work for Black Library, including KotBS, N:BoN, and my short story, “The Gods Demand”. I talked a bit about Games Day UK and the first ever Black Library Weekender.

I also talked about some interesting characters–John Bass, the Ghost-Breaker, Mr. Brass, the Clockwork Pinkerton, and Charles St. Cyprian, the Royal Occultist.

All in all, it’s safe to say I crammed a year’s worth of stuff into four months. I’m looking forward to seeing how much is in store for 2013…

