New NEFERATA Review

On the heels of Friday’s post, yesterday saw the arrival of a nice review of Neferata: Blood of Nagash over at ‘The Founding Fields’. 

As I said I did not expect to like Neferata, so I was surprised when I found that I did. Reynolds has made the Queen of the Lahmians an intelligent, witty and understandable villainess, and provides her with a strong supporting cast ranging from the petulant Ushoran to the devious Dwarf Razek Silverfoot to the ever-loyal handmaiden Naaima. The portrayal of the First Vampires was done very well, they felt suitably distinct from the human characters and you could really get a sense of how they view time, human civilisation and how each of them regards the Blood Kiss and the consequences thereof. I particularly enjoyed that even the Lahmians under Neferata were enjoyable, each a well-rounded character distinct from the rest that I found myself intrigued by.

Pretty good, if I do say so myself.  If you’re interested in seeing what the fuss is about, why not check out the ongoing discussion about the book over at the Black Library Bolthole or even order your own copy?

2 comments

Comments are closed.