Halloween, Contests and Various and Sundries…

It’s Halloween, which means it’s Monster Movie Day. Not that every day isn’t Monster Movie Day, but the thirty-first of October is traditionally the day I break out the classics. 

Tonight’s viewing schedule consists of:

The Invisible Man (1933)

Werewolf of London (1935)

Dracula’s Daughter (1936) 

Son of Frankenstein (1939)

The Mummy’s Curse (1944)

Five of my favourites and most of the bases covered–you’ve got your Invisible Man, your Werewolf, your Vampire, your Frankenstein and your Mummy. It’s not quite your ‘Five-a-day’, but it’s close.

Speaking of Halloween, have you read issue 18 of the Lovecraft eZine yet? It’s a special Halloween issue, dedicated to Roger Zelazny’s novel, A Night in the Lonesome October, which, incidentally, ranks as one of my favourite novels. 

And, just to add to the celebration, I’m holding an impromptu contest! Head over to royaloccultist.wordpress.com for all the gory details.

But Halloween isn’t the only thing going on this week. There’s also the first annual Black Library Weekender on Saturday and Sunday, if you’re one of the lucky few who managed to snag tickets. I happen to have a story in one of the exclusive, event-only chapbooks–“Berthold’s Beard”–which sees Gotrek and Felix going up against a shaggy horror quite unlike anything the irascible Slayer has yet encountered.

Since I’ve only got one or two things to do on the day(s), I’ll mostly be where all writers go when they’re not (a) writing or (b) talking about writing, which is the bar. If you’d like to come chat, feel free.  I’m full of wisdom, but I must warn you–like all hermits, I will only share it if properly bribed. Cadbury Screme Eggs for preference, but I’ll happily accept cheques and/or first-born children as well.

