WIP at the Weekend

From time to time, I like to give a bit of a head’s up on what I’m working on, just to remind the folks who stumble on this site that I have modes other than ‘Have Written’. So if you’re not in the least curious what I’m working on at the moment, feel free not to peek below the cut…

On the Black Library front, with the initial round of edits to Gotrek & Felix: Road of Skulls finished and turned in, I’m preparing to once more dig into various research materials and put together a few short story proposals. I’ll also be beginning work on the proposal for the sequel to my forthcoming ‘Time of Legends’ novel, Neferata: Blood of Nagash. At this point, I’m fairly certain said sequel will involve an undead civil war, at least one zombie dragon, and Michael Bay levels of magical explosions.

Still on the subject of tie-ins, I’m working on a submission for Abaddon Books’ upcoming open novella period. I’m a big fan of a number of their series-lines, especially Pax Britannia and No Man’s World. If you haven’t checked out either of those, do so post-haste. I’ve also proposed a follow-up to my forthcoming ‘Executioner’ novel from Gold Eagle, because I quite enjoyed writing the first one.

Off of the tie-in merry-go-round, I’m working on a number of short stories to submit to various anthologies and magazines, including Urban Green Man and several of the themed issues of the Lovecraft eZine.  I’d also quite like to submit something to Lore before the end of 2012.

Novel-wise, I’ve just submitted a proposal to Robert Hale Publishing’s ‘Black Horse Western’ line on the off-chance I might have a knack for writing something that isn’t fantasy or science-fiction. Finally, in the next month or two, barring a proper workload, I’ll begin working on a proposal for an urban fantasy novel, featuring a pair of characters I’ve had some success with recently, tentatively titled Beasts of Blackheath.  No clue where I’ll try that one. Any interested editors reading this, feel free to get in touch. It’ll probably have panther-people in it, if that sweetens the deal any.

And that’s the rundown on what I’m working on at the moment.

